January 12, 2008

  • Paul and I had a quick trip to Madisonville, TX this week to pick up a gooseneck trailer for the farm. On the way home I had it all figured out that we could stop for lunch in Louisana and then about Jackson we would need to stop somewhere for fuel. I thought about the Quilt Arts shop in Flowood on Hwy 25, right on our path toward home. Paul agreed to drop me off at the quilt shop and then he went to find a place to fuel up. I browsed the shop of wonderful fabric. Just beautiful! Then I heard some ladies chatting a couple isles over from me and one lady ask the other lady her name and she said Gwen McGee. My ears really perked up. I remembered seeing an exhibit of Gwen’s quilts at MSU a year or so ago. So, I waited my turn and then I got to visit with Gwen. She so kindly let me have a picture with her. I love posing with these famous quilters!!!! I also got to meet Polly Duggan and some other MQA ladies. …Fun, fun, fun. Check out the quilt shop at www.quiltartsonline.com and also Gwen’s web site at www.gwenmagee.com .

    Gwen McGee & Julia

Comments (5)

  • You truly have a hobby in your “old” age, don’t you?  I love it when you post pictures of yourself.  It reminds me that my old friend Julia is just about the same as she always was.   I just found out that you are expecting a grand-DAUGHTER.  Wow.  So you know what “it” is before she gets here.  With all the boys in your family and in Ben & Cindy’s family, I’ll bet she’ll be a real jewel.  I love being a grandma… I bet you will too.  Remember it’s the icing on the cake of life.  :)

  • Good picture of you and Gwen…that was special for you. It was nice of Paul to let you shop on the way home.

  • Julia I went to Gwen’s website. Check out the one she called “Jewel Fire” from the pieced category. I really like it.
    I think I recognize some of her pieces from a post you did earlier or maybe innacanoe posted them.

    Mark is ready for our Sunday afternoon Sudoku Race. We are all tied up and that make me tied up in knots. I use to could beat him consistently but now it is nip and tuck.

  • Oh Julia! You and your famous friends! Looking forward to see you in two weeks!

  • Do you have the big book of “Mississippi Quilts” compiled by Mary Elizabeth Johnson? Gwen McGee is on page 195 with several of her quilts.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment