April 26, 2008

  • Farmer’s Delight

    I’ve finally finshed my wall hanging using the Farmer’s Delight pattern. I call it “Family Circle.”

    Family Circle email

    Family Circle detail email

    My Grandmother Vera has made around a dozen bed quilts using the Farmer’s Delight pattern. This inspired two of my sisters and a niece to each make their own; which in turn inspired me to make one too.

    Here are 2 quilt’s by Grandmother.

    Farmer's Delight by Grandmother

    Farmer's Delight Grandmother green

    Polly made this one using plums and greens for color.

    Farmers Delight3 Large Web view

    Barbara made her’s with mostly burgandy & navy.

    Farmer's Delight Barbara

    Jolene’s Farmer’s Delight is acutally made by 5 generations of ladies. Great Grandmother Vera, Grandmother Margaret, Mother June (my sister), Jolene, and Jolene’s daughter Afton each made a circle.

    Jolene & Grandmother

    Notice that some of the patterns have one ring of saw teeth around the outside and some of the patterns have two rings of saw teeth.

Comments (12)

  • Did you machine quilt or hand quilt your red Farmer’s Delight?  They look very hard to sew!   Maybe you can teach me how to make quilts when we move down.

  • I feel so fortunate to have one of Grandmother Vera’s “Farmers Delight” quilts. This afternoon I showed it to a group of ladies who came over to see some of the quilts I have. What fun! Now back to my sewing room. I’m sure glad my windows are done and I can move on to better things.

  • I wanted to ask if Polly’s Farmer’s Delight had applique in the middle or was that sewn pieces?  

  • Awww! Gorgeous quilts! Love all the different quilts made with one “pattern” as a base!

  • Hey Mom!  I didn’t know all this stuff about G’ma Vera making all the Farmer’s Delights, and that is really neat about Jolene’s having five generations worked into it.

  • Enjoyed the visit. You are such professionals. I do good to piece the BOM for the Quilt Guild each month.

  • Wow! What more can I say than that? Wow again!

  • You ladies are so talented — your quilts are absolutely beautiful – I trust  your daughters and granddaughters  are keeping up this wonderful craft.

  • Beautiful!

  • Now that’s an heirloom! I really enjoyed seeing all the variety of colors. Beautiful!

  • O-o-oh! Beautiful! I do believe these are my favorites of all your quilts! Truly heirlooms. Thanks for posting!

  • Wow!  I especially love Polly’s quilt!  so many lovely ones!  My sister just finished quilting one for someone that is quite small but is quilted really close.  She used over 750 yards of thread!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment